The Click

I had tried numerous times to lose weight before I was finally successful because my first attempts were too restrictive. I would count calories and eventually go crazy and eat everything in sight.

I decided to give weight loss one more try when a group of coworkers decided to start a weight loss challenge. I didn’t actively decide that I was going to need to make a lifestyle change, but I knew that my diets of the past just weren’t cutting it.

I got on the scale that first day and it read 285. Right then I made a goal to lose 35 pounds in 5 months before my upcoming cruise. I knew that I ate way too much fast food, drank too much soda, snacked too much, and was beyond lazy. Those were easy things to change.

If it has a drive-thru, I don’t eat there.

I drink one soda a day and after that I’m chugging water like it’s going out of style. I’m a super cranky person without my caffeine in the morning. I know that so many people give up soda completely, and that is great for them, but I knew that wouldn’t work for me.

I still snacked (and still do), but instead of reaching for the chips or cookies, I opted for fruit and granola. Even though I cut down on the junk food type snacks, but I didn’t eliminate them completely. It’s all about moderation here folks.

I knew that I wouldn’t join a gym and that I would never workout hard core, so I did what I could. I walked. In the beginning I walked a mile a day and even that was kind of hard for me, but I kept going.

Those were my changes…they were simple but so effective.

I made small changes and within a few weeks I had lost 10 pounds and in 3 months I had reached my 5 month weight loss goal. I had lost 35 pounds. Something had clicked. I knew I could do this.

By the time my cruise rolled around, I had lost 50 pounds was thrilled! I walked around that ship with more confidence than I ever had before. I still knew that I had more weight to lose, but at that moment I was the happiest that I had been in many years.

3 thoughts on “The Click

Leave a comment